By Amy Gorin, MS, RDN
If you're aiming to eat gluten-free products, you'll want to know about hidden sources of gluten and surprising foods that contain gluten. Take a look at this hidden gluten list today.
If you're following a gluten free, wheat free, or wheat intolerance diet, you likely want to know more about hidden sources of gluten in potential gluten- and wheat-free foods. Let's talk all about gluten-free labeling and what are really, truly gluten-free foods.
Read on to learn more about hidden gluten in beloved wheat-free products and wheat-free recipes. You may be surprised at the tweaks you'll need to make to your no-wheat diet, your gluten-free shopping list, and your gluten-free diet recipes.
If you had only a minute, I bet you could name at least a handful of people you know who are gluten-free eaters. Even though only 1% of the population has celiac disease, a genetic autoimmune disorder triggered by consuming gluten, more and more people are taking up gluten-free diets in hopes of improving their health.
But can ridding your diet of the protein–yes, gluten's a protein!–actually help you meet your health goals? I investigate that exact question in this blog post.
I'm separating fact from fiction when it comes to widespread ideas about gluten. And most importantly, I'm busting the myth that gluten is inherently bad for you.
And for people who are truly allergic or intolerant to gluten, I'm sharing nine foods that appear to be gluten free but in actuality can contain hidden gluten. Plus, you're getting a recipe for the most delicious gluten-free mocktail that's sure to satisfy everyone at the table. Ready to get started?
Hidden Gluten Sources to Know About
When you think about gluten-containing foods, I bet breads, pastas, and pastries immediately pop into your mind. But if you're a gluten-free eater or are preparing a meal for someone who is, it's important to know those aren't the only foods worth avoiding.
In fact, there are quite a few foods you would never guess contain gluten, which I reveal in my Food Network article.
Here are additional foods that have gluten-containing ingredients:
- soy sauce
- French fries (if cross contamination happens in a fryer)
- wheat starch
- malt vinegar
- oats (if not labeled gluten free)
And here are foods that are definitely gluten free:
- gluten-free breads
- gluten-free grains such as quinoa
- gluten-free flour
- chia seeds
- hemp seeds
The bottom line: Make sure to read ingredient lists to see if foods are in fact naturally gluten free and work for a gluten-intolerant diet.
Facts About Gluten-Free Products
Over the past few years, gluten has come to be enemy No. 1 among many healthy eaters. But does it really deserve that title?
To help set the record straight, I share the true scoop on gluten and bust a few myths about the protein in my Everyday Health article. Do you really need to be opting for gluten-free baked goods? Spoiler: There *are* health benefits to eating gluten!
Amy's Gluten-Free Recipe to Try